#NoNothingNovember: Day 24, Bounce Back

Today is a great day. I love today. I got some good sleep today after work. A quick nap and some good, cold water and I was refreshed and ready to go. Though if I was being honest, what really made me feel refreshed was pouring myself out about yesterday.

There is something truly purifying in the act of baring everything. Though I know this is a journal and unlike most journals it is online, the simple act of telling someone what I have going on keeps me going.

It’s been said that if you want your blog, or your book, or your writing career, or your business, or anything really, to thrive then you have to put your blood, sweat, tears, and guts in it. It has to come from inside. You can’t just “sort of” want it. You have to want it bad enough to bare everything inside you.

Honestly, it feels good not having to lie to anyone, even myself. I despise lying and keeping everything inside instead of putting it out there on this blog would feel like a lie by omission. It would feel like I mislead you by refusing to lead you to the truth.

This cannot be allowed. If I am to continue to grow and thrive, it must continue as is.

Thus, with my refreshment after yesterday and my feelings of raw and lively newness, I bounced back today. Hard. To say I put everything into my writing is close to the truth.

I wrote for hours today. Not just on my fiction novel and my freelance work, but on a story idea. Not just a vague plot outline. I designed an entire system for this world. A world that is building and growing in my mind. The urge to start on it immediately is strong, but I will finish what I have started first.

The new story will be written when the old one has been given it’s due. I refuse to be an artist with 10 half finished canvases laying about my apartment.

Herakles is not just a conqueror; He is a finisher.

I wrote so much today I forgot to eat for hours. I was starving, but of a different kind. Once I started writing, the words just flowed out. I was writing but hungered to write more the entire time.

My creativity could not be satiated. If yesterday was the worst day I’ve had all month then today was my best yet. One of the best, anyway. It’s back to my original vigor and change excitement that I had in the beginning. Today felt more like November 4th than November 24th.

I’m back.

I love it. Honestly, I feel amazing. The only thing I didn’t get done today was taking my exercise regiment to the next level. I’m doing that after this blog post goes up. I’ll be sharing it on social media and /r/nonothingnovember per usual, then I’m hitting the ground running.

I will get my blood pumping hard. Heart racing and tired.

It feels good to be back.


Honestly, the one thing I’ve had the easiest time with this month is avoiding mindless media consumption. I’ve stayed off of youtube and netflix everyday except when I went to watch Glengarry Glen Ross the other day. And yesterday, while staring blankly, I found time to watch a comparison video between custom printed plastics and industrial strength that someone sent me a link to. My exercise has waned but all and all I’ve been good about it. I’m taking care of my exercise after this goes up, and for my writing and schedule? I got more done today than I have in a week. All things said, today’s scores are

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 10/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 10/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 10/10

Daily Total: 30/30
Yesterday’s Total: 0/30
Total To Date: 585/720

Leave a comment