#NoNothingNovember: Day 27, Thanksgiving

Today was a pretty good day, all things considered. Most of the Thanksgiving Day NFL games weren’t very much fun to watch. The Lions game was entertaining enough by watching Megatron alone. Unfortunately, the Eagles/Cowboys and Seahawks/49ers games weren’t very exciting to me. The battle for NFC East supremacy looked more like an adult fighting a shit-talking 11 year old.

To put it simply, the Cowboys were hyped up to be more than they were during the game. It’s not that I think the Cowboys are a bad team. They’re not. They were absolutely on fire earlier in the year, but once Romo got hurt their steam sputtered out and it was very apparent today. The defense looked absolutely lazy, which allowed the Eagles to pull far ahead early. When they get down early, the Cowboys had to throw the ball more to try and play catch up and when they abandoned the run, you get an asswhooping.

Unlike the Eagles/Cowboys game, the Seahawks/49ers game bored me because we didn’t see many trips to the endzone. Only one TD, in fact. Seattle scored it in the first quarter and not a single TD to be had the rest of the game. This bored me because Kaepernick and Wilson are two of the more exciting QBs to watch. They always seem to find some way to get out, get open, or find someone. Which is something Romo is normally known for, but it just didn’t happen today. How many times did he get sacked? I forget. Was it a hundred? No, two, right. Two hundred sacks.

Wilson did have one electrifying play where he seemingly dodged a sack by every person in San Francisco to make the play. That was the sole highlight for me.

Thanksgiving with the family was good. Good conversation and all that, but there definitely is still the black sheep that we wish we didn’t have to invite. Make no mistake, it wasn’t someone I invited. But everyone who’s ever been to their mom’s house to discover they invited that one particular relative and the immediate pit in your stomach that brings knows what I’m talking about.

The rest of it wasn’t much to complain about. Typical family banter. How’s school? How’s work? When are you getting married? Why don’t you have as many kids as the rest of your cousins and siblings? Yadda yadda.

Probably the most interesting part of it was that I got offered a job by someone who “could get me in” with working alongside him. Now, I’m know in life it’s who you know, but I had to politely decline. To put it simply, I love the job I already have.

Isn’t that what we all want in life as men? A job you’re not only proud to have, but something you enjoy doing? Something you don’t just tolerate. Something you’re not just okay with.

Something you feel “Fuck Yeah!” about?

With freelancing, I’m having the time of my life. I’m not going to try and sell you some silver bullet “make a million dollars a night” bullshit. I’m not making a million dollars a night, a month, or even a year. It might take me 15 years to earn a million bucks at my current rate.

However, I love what I’m doing and I’ll stay with it as long as I’m able. And eventually, that rate WILL go up.

The food on Thanksgiving was great, as ever. Something about older women, they just know how to cook. That’s something the guys of this current generation might not get to experience, what with how modern feminism has women bragging about not knowing how to cook like it’s some badge of honor.

I hope for their sake, it becomes one of those “lost arts” and sees a new Renaissance where the trendy and whatever passes for a hipster in 50 years will spend all day recording Holocasts of cooking using their Xbox Kinect hooked directly into their floor-model television.

IRONIC

I didn’t get any writing done today, but that was on the schedule. I took a day off of freelancing and working on my novel to specifically spend time with family and eat a good meal. Ass-kicking back on schedule bright and early tomorrow morning. I’ll need to run at least 3 marathons to burn off what I gorged on today.

Imagine what your workout regimen would have to look like if your cheat day was a Thanksgiving feast every week.


Everything went well today. There’s nothing really I can complain about. The turkey was a little darker than I would have liked, I suppose, but that has nothing to do with my three goals for the month and everything to do with cooking that I had nothing to do with. I didn’t write and I didn’t exercise today, but that was part of the plan. If I had written and exercised at full speed, I would have violated rule 2. Points deducted either way. Rock and a hard place, and all that. All things considered, today’s scores are
1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 10/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 10/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 5/10

Daily Total: 25/30
Yesterday’s Total: 27/30
Total To Date: 665/810

Leave a comment