#NoNothingNovember: Day 29, 28 Down-2 to Go

As most of you probably know, my computer gave out on me a little while back. The largest downside of this is that until I can do enough freelancing work to afford a new one, I’m stuck borrowing my neighbor’s.

On the positive side, she’s been more than helpful with letting me use it while she’s there but on the flipside, my time is a great deal more limited now. So when I do get a chance to get online, I spend most of my time doing my freelance work in an attempt to pay the bills. This, unfortunately, sometimes leaves very little time to update this blog for #NoNothingNovember.

This is upsetting, but not overly so. Eventually, I do get to return and when I do I always try to prioritize my first free moments to update this blog. The biggest issue I’ve had so far was the case yesterday where she was gone until today, so I wasn’t online at all.

Luckily, I haven’t had a huge issue with being able to get online. I believe the most delayed any post has been is the next morning, like this one, so at least it’s not gotten worse with time.

Yesterday was a pretty good day, the 29th. I got my exercise and writing in. The only problem was for my fiction novel. I am still positively stuck on it, and I have no idea what to do for it. I’m continuing to expand experience to try and find some inspiration somewhere, but so far I’m at a loss.

So for my writing time yesterday, I instead opted to do some plot outlining for a second story I have in the works. It’s essentially what I’ll be starting when my current venture is over. I hadn’t intended to write down anymore details of it outside of the barebones summary but with my creativity stifled on the first story I decided to not waste my only writing time trying to force it and instead get something accomplished.

Exercise and writing aside, I was fine yesterday. I did end up mindlessly scrolling for about 5 minutes. I was trying to find a video of something I saw a long while back on Youtube and the next thing I know I got clickbaited. I clicked once or twice and then realized what I was doing and immediately got up and moved.

I can feel the sturdy boundaries I’ve set for myself coming undone. I don’t know what it is about the mindset shift but I went from not even having the urge to try Youtube or Netflix to actually wanting to mindlessly scroll again. I thought I had beaten the rut but it seems it is still rearing its head.

This time, I’ve decided I’m going to try to remember to keep a Rut Journal. Basically, whenever I feel dazed or hazy, I’ll write down how I’m feeling, what predated it, what I was doing, etc. It’s my attempt at discerning some repeating pattern so I’ll know what corrections to make.

Yesterday’s daily plan was on track, minus the 5 minutes I spent mindlessly scrolling. I haven’t watched any movies or anything sense the other day, it was just that youtube mindlessness.

Let’s see if we can’t get it back on track before December starts.


To finish up, today’s scores are

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 8/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 9/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 8/10

Daily Total: 25/30
Yesterday’s Total: 28/30
Total To Date: 718/870

One thought on “#NoNothingNovember: Day 29, 28 Down-2 to Go

  1. Hey dude, congrats with sticking out #NNN.
    You’re right, no matter how many times you think you’ve beaten a habit, it comes back, and comes back and comes back.
    I like your idea of marking yourself each day and getting tallied total, at the end of the month. Neat idea!

    Like

Leave a comment