#NoNothingNovember: Day 1

Yesterday kicked off KidStrangelove’s vice-abstaining, misery-inducing, iron-will-forging idea of a good time known as “No Nothing November,” which is when the Manosphere comes together to reinforce the idea that we are foremost a community devoted to the betterment of ourselves as men and we all throw our collective vices in the fire for the next moon. My Internet was out yesterday so I could get this blog post up in time, so I’m a little late to the party. This year I chose to force myself out of the mental rut I had been in lately by doing three things:

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. Due to a few documentaries I had gotten into the habit a month or so ago that during meals I’d turn on Netflix while I ate and while that sounds good in theory in practice it became more about how I could forget to take bites or zone out all together while the narrator explained how the secrets of Viking swords seemed lost to the ages. This has dulled my mind a bit, so I’ve limited my media consumption to less flickering-lights and more static words. Refresher course on some RP books I haven’t read in awhile, and a few nonfiction I’ve been meaning to get to.

2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. A secondary part of the funk I’d been in was a sense of listlessness. To put it simply, I was going through life on autopilot for a bit. This is unacceptable as I still have far too much work to do to even think about a vacation, let alone a total check-out on reality. I’ve decided to hold myself accountable far more routinely by setting aside time during every day to review, check off or add new daily, weekly and monthly goals.

3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. I’m not just talking about over here at LoM either. Before starting this blog I fancied myself a fiction writer. Not a great one, but one none the less. Or is it none the wiser? Truly. The rut I’ve been wallowing in has began to stink up not only my mental faculties, but it has dulled my writing and further expanded my waistline. Perhaps dropping to 7% body fat will be on next November’s checklist?

As yesterday was the first day I decided to jump straight into the thick of it by dusting off some books begging to be read but as I was cleaning off the table the net went out. I called to see what was up and the company was working on it so I sat down to crack open the cover when I had a drop in from an old friend I hadn’t seen in ages. In the neighborhood and wanted to catch up and being as I knew the net was out and I was going to be away from brain-off activities I decided to go for it. I ended up not getting back in until late and so now the blog post is going up early on day 2. Had an absolute blast, even though I didn’t get to read I did get in my exercise, writing (the first draft of this before it went down and then I scrapped it), avoiding being a Neflix Zombie, and even got Day 2s itinerary on the books.

Time to get the day started and I’ll be back with Day 2. Anyone else who is doing the month challenge and wants to talk to me about it can hit me up on Twitter or in the comments below.


This section I’ll be using as a sort of self-judged metric to give myself a numerical grade for the day so I have an idea of how I’m doing over time and to hold myself accountable in black and white.

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 9/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 8/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 10/10

Daily Total: 27
Yesterday: N/A
Total To Date: 27/30

One thought on “#NoNothingNovember: Day 1

Leave a comment