#NoNothingNovember: Day 30, 82.22%

Today (well, yesterday) was the big day. Day 30. The end of November. It was officially the last day of the tally for #NoNothingNovember.

Yesterday started off about as well as any other day. I got moving in the morning, though I was running late on the schedule so I didn’t get my full run in yesterday. I don’t know what it is, but the whole run I was just feeling drained and sluggish. I slept alright the night before, and water was fine.

I just felt shitty for some reason. I’m up today, moving and everything but still not feeling very well. I’m not sure what the issue is. I’m going to just suffer through it and call it a “case of the Mondays” or whatever the fuck Garfield is useless about.

Part of whatever that overall feeling of grossness, I’m still stuck on my fiction novel. This is frustrating, to be sure. A part of me is saying “Just give it up. You’re already lost anyway. You’re getting nothing done.”

That part is a fucking loser. I know that, for whatever reason, the old habit of just being nothing is trying to sneak back up. It’s making grounds here and there but I’m still pushing against it. I’m not going down without a fight. I don’t want to be one of those guys who tries a little bit, gives up, and pats myself on the back for “trying.”

“Tried” is the politically correct way of saying “failed.” It’s the Participation Trophy of excuses.

“I triiiiieeedddddd!!!!!”

Trying is for loses. Either get it done or get out of the way.

To themselves right now, Star Wars Geeks quoting Yoda are.

So, even though I didn’t get any writing done on my fiction novel, I did find a bit of work for my freelancing. I’m going to finish up the first draft today and send it to the client. That, along with a few that I’ve had done for a day or two.

As most of you know, my computer/internet situation isn’t ideal right now, so I’m doing what I can when I can get over here. Here we are though, time to go to work.

No mindless scrolling or media surfing either. The only real “playtime” I had yesterday (the 30th) was when I decided to download one of those phone games to play on the toilet since I had left my book at home and the Internet connection in the bathroom was too spotty to do work. The signal around here isn’t the best, but we do what we can. I was able to get online to accept some contracts the past day or two, using my phone.

The only downside being that I haven’t been able to communicate with my client as much as I’d like.

I have got to get a new comp, and fast.


To finish up, today’s scores are

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 7/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 7/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 8/10

Daily Total: 22/30
Yesterday’s Total: 25/30
Total To Date: 740/900

That means that the final score for the month of November is 740/900 or 82.22%

Leave a comment