#NoNothingNovember: Day 7, Restless

I’m still not sleeping. I”m starting to fear the insomnia is back to visit awhile. After sleeping so sparingly the night before, and staying up all day and night yesterday until 11pm, I thought for sure I would sleep well past dawn this morning. Imagine my irritation when I rolled over, unable to go back to sleep, and checked my phone to see 1:04AM. I had slept about two hours, after being up for 20 with 2 hours the previous night.

I’m not irritated now. I still accomplished quite a bit. I took the proactive route and get some writing done. “I’m already awake, might as well get some work out of it.” That period of time is what allowed me to crank out my first #NNN unrelated post, and the set the standard for what style of posts readers can expect once the month is up.

Don’t mistake my meaning. I am still enjoying the month, insomnia aside, and I’ve made leaps and bounds. One thing is for sure, and that’s that I am definitely getting into the groove of shrugging off the circumstance I find myself in and working forward anyway. I have my goals and I accomplish them how I can, even if it isn’t always how I want. I’m staying resilient, but flexible.

The hardest part about today was finding what to do with my free time after my schedule was up and I found myself inspired to write more for my NaNoWriMo novel. I’m making good progress, all things considered. I don’t have as much time for it as I’d like, but I’m still actually far ahead of pace. At the rate I’m going now, I’ll have my weekly writing goal for next week done tomorrow morning.

The novel is still bad, of course, but I am gaining a new feel for writing scenes. One thing I am grateful for is that I really enjoy the characters I’m writing. Their personalities and interactions crack me up, so I get a lot of fun out of writing them and their dialogue. I think that, upon the secondary draft of the book I’ll take it more into a young adult direction. Not because I want to get lost in an already oversaturated market, but because I feel the content material and light hearted tone and humor fit better with a 6th grade+ age group.

I also got some Christmas shopping done early. I’ve needed some new electronics and equipment for awhile so I finally decided to splurge on myself and buy the equipment I need. I didn’t go through with the purchase yet, but I did narrow the list of options down considerably to give me some comparisons to do now before Black Friday and Cyber Monday. I won’t have as much time to waste idling gawking and shopping, so I figure that now is as good a time as any to fill my list and just check them off one by one on the day of.

I definitely don’t want to start forcing my writing into this journal as it’s one of the more surprisingly fun things I’ve done this month. It’s been less than a week but I enjoy being able to record and reread my thoughts and accomplishments for the day. With that, I think that I’ll cut today short. I’m getting a bit tired just sitting here so I think I’ll go for a quick jog to give me that boost to make it to my next meal, then perhaps an early evening bedtime.


Don’t worry, I didn’t forget. Outside of the fatigue and malaise, today was actually one of the better days for goal crushing. So that makes today’s scores

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 10/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 10/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 10/10

Daily Total: 30/30
Yesterday’s Total: 27/30
Total To Date: 179/210

Leave a comment