#NoNothingNovember: Day 8

Today was a bit better than yesterday in some respects. I definitely got more sleep. The problem was that, after laying and tossing and turning all night, I finally drifted off about 6:30. I originally went to bed at about 10:30. I slept until about midnight-1, and got up to use the bathroom then immediately laid back down. During my tossing and turning I had fits of seeming to doze, but they lasted only a few moments. I dozed perhaps twice in six hours, and the rest was wakefulness.

I’m not sure why it is, perhaps my Circadian rhythm is just out of whack. If I believed in destiny I might say “perhaps I was supposed to be born on the other side of the world.” For whatever reason, I did finally get to sleep at close to daylight this morning. I slept until almost dark. I’m glad that if it had to happen, it happened on a weekend and not during the work week but I wish I could find an answer.

I know it’s not diet, as I’ve cut caffeine and soda. It’s not like I’m on a sugar high and just can’t crash. I’m beginning to think about getting some melatonin supplement for this sleep issue even though I don’t even take tylenol for a headache. It’s beginning to wear me down and the sporadic nature of when sleep comes is affecting my work.

On that note, however, my writing is still going along fantastically. The writing itself sucks, but the process is great. I sit down and once I get into a bit of a groove I will often more than double my wordcount goal for the day.I’d make better progress than that except I haven’t broken myself of the habit of self-editing yet. Refining as I go takes a lot of time but if I know I have a better sentence in me I fear that leaving it there will make it forgotten.

Exercise is still going well. I’m glad to be getting my heart rate up, not just for weight control but also for setting the mood for other exercises. When it comes to women and the gym: hit it hard, fast, and often.

My RP reading is taking a hit lately, with the fatigue. My eyes hurt while staring at a screen too long, so I’ll be deducting points for that. It’s hurting my schedule adherence, and worse, my knowledge. I’m still good about not consuming garbage media, but what is the point if I’m not replacing it with media with actual substance?

Part of it, I would believe, is diet, but I’m also eating better than ever. No energy drinks/coffee/etc. with meals or anything of the sort. I’ve had some insomnia troubles before, but it does eventually pass. If not, I’d see a professional when I can.

I’m excited about next week. I’ve already got my next blog post for the main site planned out. The only thing now is the doing. Which, the way it’s looking I might not be able to stop myself from getting the article done tomorrow or Monday, even though it’s not due until midweek or Friday.

Anyone who knows anything about sleep apnea or anything, let me know. I’m aware it might be weight, but I’m working on that and need some advice or tips in the interim.


Today’s scores are

1) Foregoing of mindless media consumption. 8/10
2) Having a clear daily plan and deadline goals to meet. 6/10
3) Exercise and write everyday. Period. 10/10

Daily Total: 24/30
Yesterday’s Total: 30/30
Total To Date: 203/240

Leave a comment